Imposter Syndrome: Slaying the Beast

Part I: Origin Story

‘Tine Zekis

--

Welcome to Part I of a three-part series on Imposter Syndrome: Slaying the Beast. In this section, we will discuss the origin of the term and the initial research carried out on Imposter Syndrome. You can check out parts II and III here:

This series is adapted from a talk I gave at Music City Tech, Cream City Code, and TechBash. You can find a link to the slides from that talk here. You can also view the talk I gave at TechBash here.

This blog post originally appeared in tinezekis.github.io in December, 2019.

Oh, hey! My name is Christine Zekis, but I go by ‘Tine Zekis, which also happens to be my Twitter handle (tinezekis) My pronouns are she, her, hers, and I’m a software engineer…and an imposter.

Cartoon of a person with brown skin and short, black and pink hair, smiling and waving
Bitmoji: Hi!

Before we dig in, let’s start with a definition: what is Imposter Syndrome? Imposter Syndrome is a thought pattern in which a person diminishes their own accomplishments, often attributing their successes to luck. This is coupled with a fear of being discovered to be a “fraud”, or less capable than they appear to be. (Paraphrased from Wikipedia)

--

--

‘Tine Zekis

Christine (‘Tine) Zekis is an author, international speaker, software engineer, and the Founder & CEO of Getting Black Women Paid